Nursing State License Guide

When it comes to making the most of your career as a travel nurse, flexibility is key. The top travelers will tell you to be open to going where you’re needed most. That’s where RN state licensing comes into play, and our WNS Success Team will support you every step of the way.

Use our guide below to help you get started.

Compact States

States that have implemented the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC). The NLC is an agreement between states that allows an RN with a multi-state license to practice in any state that has implemented the NLC.

Non-Compact States

States that have not yet implemented the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC). To practice within these states, a nurse must first obtain a single-state license from the state they wish to practice in.

Your Guide to Travel
Nurse Licensing

Primary State of Residence

This is your home state or the state where you declare a primary residence for legal purposes. Only one state can be identified as the primary state of residence for NLC purposes.

Multi-State License

Nurses with a primary state of residence in an NLC state can obtain a multi-state license to practice nursing in all NLC states. Multi-state licenses allow nurses to practice across state borders easily and temporarily in other NLC states.

Timing Guidance

The timing to obtain a nursing license can vary greatly by state or personal situation. We recommend starting the licensure process

Not sure which license you need?

To help you navigate this journey, we’ve created a map to determine what type of license you need for each state.

Wellspring Map 2024

Have Questions?

Give us a little info and one of our pro recruiters will reach out to you ASAP!